Notice: Function add_theme_support( 'html5' ) was called incorrectly. You need to pass an array of types. Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 3.6.1.) in /var/www/wp-includes/functions.php on line 6078
Eurovision You Decide returns

OGAE UK is delighted to confirm that for the second year in a row, a full-scale UK national final will be held in our quest to find a winning Eurovision entry.

And for 2017 – twenty years since the UK last won, and the year of our 60th song for Eurovision – it’s getting even bigger!

The BBC has announced that Eurovision You Decide 2017 will take place on Friday 27th January at the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith, West London. And in a welcome move, the show will now be broadcast on BBC 2, in a 90-minute spectacular starting at 19:30, presented by “self-confessed superfan” Mel Giedroyc.

OGAE UK has once again been involved in the shortlisting of songs, alongside songs from the music industry under the auspices of Hugh Goldsmith. As last year, the participating six songs will be revealed on Monday 23rd January on the Ken Bruce Show.

The first special guest has already been announced, and it’s none other than 2009 victor Alexander Rybak.

Presenter, Mel Giedroyc said, “I am positively giddy for Eurovision 2017 and chuffed that Eurovision: You Decide is back! I’ve been hearing great things about the standard of the songs this year and I just wish January would hurry up so that I can hear the songs and meet the performers! We’ve got an even bigger venue, exciting guest performers and a brilliant expert panel. It’s going to be great.”

Patrick Holland, Controller BBC Two said, “What a treat! We are delighted that Mel is bringing this evening of Eurovision joy to BBC Two.”

Tickets are on sale now – get yours here.

It has also been confirmed that BBC Four will broadcast both semi-finals of the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 on Tuesday 9 and Thursday 11 May. The Grand Final itself will be broadcast on BBC One on Saturday 13 May 2017.


About Author

Comments are closed.